POSTED: 2011-03-28 :: LAST UPDATED: 2011-03-28, 15:45 ET

The North-American Interfraternity Conference (NIC) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 Awards of Distinction. The Awards will be presented in three categories at the NIC Annual Meeting on April 10, 2011 in Washington, DC.

The Undergraduate Award of Distinction seeks to recognize the fraternity man who has found in his experience an outlet for developing as both a leader and a better man. The 2011 winners are:

  • Noah Levin, Sigma Alpha Epsilon from Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jonathan Rogers, Alpha Tau Omega from Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
  • Eddie Higgenbotham IV, Theta Chi from Northwestern State University
  • Spencer Montgomery, Sigma Nu from University of South Florida

The Chapter Award of Distinction recognizes the undergraduate chapter which is highly functioning, in compliance with NIC Standards, seeks to educate others about the benefits of a values based fraternity experience, and works to maintain a healthy relationship with their inter/national organization. The 2011 winners are:

  • Alpha Tau Omega Ė Beta Delta, University of Alabama
  • Beta Theta Pi - Zeta Omega, University of San Diego
  • FarmHouse Fraternity - Iowa State Chapter, Iowa State University
  • Sigma Phi Epsilon - Illinois Alpha, University of Illinois

The Alumni Award of Distinction recognizes the fraternity man who has given of his time, talents, and service to the betterment of the fraternity. The service can be given at the local, regional, or national level. The 2011 Winners are:

  • Steven Ehrlich, Esq., Zeta Beta Tau
  • Sen. Johnny Isakson, Sigma Alpha Epsilon

NIC President and CEO, Pete Smithhisler commended the award winners and nominators saying, "This was a particularly competitive year for the Award of Distinction Committee. The growth in the fraternity movement is clearly being accompanied by unprecedented achievement in the classroom and within our communities. When asked about the true nature of fraternity, we point to our Award of Distinction winners and are very proud of the example they set for our movement."

Additional information about the awards of distinction can be found online at For specific information related to the award winners please contact Ben Pendry at the NIC office, or at>.


Founded in 1909, the North-American Interfraternity Conference is the trade association representing international and national menís fraternities. Through advocacy, collaboration, and education, the NIC works to ensure that fraternities can operate in an environment conducive to their success.

© 2007-2015 Sigma Nu Fraternity, Inc.
9 North Lewis Street, PO Box 1869, Lexington, Virginia 24450
Phone: 540.463.1869 || Fax: 540.463.1669 || E-mail:


Terms of Use || Privacy Policy