2012-2013 Award Winners
POSTED: 2013-07-26 :: LAST UPDATED: 2013-07-26, 11:10 ET

The General Fraternity published its annual list of award winners this week to honor the chapters and brothers who have brought distinction to themselves and the Fraternity over the past year.

The collegiate merit award winners include:

  • Man of the Year Michael P. Walsh (MIT)
  • Scholar of the Year Thomas M. Briggs (Oklahoma State)

Alumni award winners include:

  • Chapter Advisor of the Year - Dr. Mark W. Himmelein (Mount Union)
  • Division Commander of the Year Dr. Jamison J. Keller (Cal. State, San Bernardino)
  • Greek Advisor of the Year Clarybel Peguero, Director of Greek Life at Duke University
  • Alumni Chapter Officer of the Year Mr. Stanley D. Dupuy (Louisiana Tech)
  • House Corporation Officer of the Year Mr. Peter R. Burgum (Pennsylvania)

The Alpha Affiliate award salutes those rare and uncommon Knights who exemplify eminence in their daily lives as expressed by the Creed of Sigma Nu; who demonstrate a genuine commitment to the ideals of the Legion of Honor; and whose pattern of performance on behalf of their chapter and the General Fraternity are a worthy model for others to follow. The Fraternity is pleased to announce the following Alpha Affiliate award winners:

  • Alpha #590 Jacob E. Bechert (Huntingdon)
  • Alpha #591 Anderson E. Brown (Virginia Wesleyan)
  • Alpha #592 Robert L. Corban (Mississippi)
  • Alpha #593 J. Wells Ellenberg (Georgia)
  • Alpha #594 Austin Harrison (Mississippi)
  • Alpha #595 Ramin Nejaddehghan (Maryland)
  • Alpha #596 Kyle J. Sikes (Oklahoma State)
  • Alpha #597 John B. Stuart (Oklahoma State)
  • Alpha #598 Robert M. Tudor (Eastern Kentucky)
  • Alpha #599 Michael P. Walsh (MIT)

This year's Gallaher Cup, awarded to the chapter with the highest GPA among all Sigma Nu chapters, went to the Beta Rho Chapter at the University of Pennsylvania with a chapter GPA of 3.55. Gamma Chapter at Duke University earned the Bronze Plaque Cup with a chapter GPA of 3.54.

Also earning scholarship awards were Lambda Chapter at Washington and Lee (Certificate of Commendation) and Gamma Omicron Chapter at Washington University in St. Louis (Certificate of Merit) with chapter GPAs of 3.47 and 3.44, respectively.

The Fraternity also presents awards to individuals and chapters that show innovation and commitment to the Fraternity's flagship leadership development program, LEAD (Leadership, Ethics, Achievement, and Development).

Earning Alumnus LEAD Facilitator of the Year was Joseph S. Baxter (Cal State Fullerton). Collegiate LEAD Chairman of the Year went to Nicholas S. Kolega (Kansas).

The LEAD Chapter of the Year was awarded to Gamma Chapter at Duke University, which also earned the award for Innovation in LEAD Programming.

For a complete listing of award winners, complete with bios and accomplishments, see the fall issue The Delta. Additional award winners and award information can be found at www.sigmanu.org/awards

© 2007-2015 Sigma Nu Fraternity, Inc.
9 North Lewis Street, PO Box 1869, Lexington, Virginia 24450
Phone: 540.463.1869 || Fax: 540.463.1669 || E-mail: headquarters@sigmanu.org


Terms of Use || Privacy Policy